The Old Latin School, known officially as the Wittenberg Gymnasium of 1828, was build in the church yard of St. Mary's in Wittenberg, where Martin Luther preached over 1,000 sermons. The first two floors of the school were built in 1564. The second two floors were built in 1828, hence the official name "Wittenberg Gymnasium of 1828." When the school originally was built it served to train young men who would later attend the University of Wittenberg and other universities to become pastors, doctors, lawyers and so forth. In its 450 year history, the building has been used for a variety of purposes and visited by historically famous people. The building even served as a make shift hospital when Napoleon rolled through Wittenberg. A detailed history (in German) can be read below.
Pictured above: St. Mary's City Church, where Dr. Martin Luther preached. Circled is the Old Latin School. The location right next to the church where Martin Luther preached the Reformation Gospel to the world is a powerful reminder for the purpose of the school. The Old Latin School existed to facilitated the Gospel to the world. Today, the opportunity for the Old Latin School exists again. The renovations to the building are nearly completed. It will be dedicated in May 2015. The building will serve as a preaching station, a conference center where theological education will take place. The Old Latin School provides an opportunity to be a witness to the world regarding Confessional Lutheranism, especially during the 2017 Reformation celebration. Interested individuals and groups will be able to stay at the Old Latin School. You can learn more by visiting The Old Latin School Website (http://oldlatinschool.org). To see some of the fascinating history of the Old Latin School, take a look at the book below.